top of page
Logo KJCrochet.PNG
  • Writer's pictureKelly Joy

DIY Crochet Pacifier Clip

Updated: Mar 7, 2019

Welcome to Kelly Joy Crochet! I'm so excited to be writing my first ever blog post AAAAAAND releasing my first FREE CROCHET PATTERN! I've been dreaming about this blog for a long time now, and I'm so happy to FINALLY be taking the plunge.


A little background on this pacifier clip: I always wanted my children to have a pacifier. I know this is a little controversial, but we popped one in our babies mouth on day 1. I was a pacifier kid. My husband was a pacifier kid. My children's COUSINS are pacifier kids, so naturally my first born would take a pacifier...


WRONG! Children like to teach you things the moment they're born, and mine taught me VERY quickly that he was his own person making his own choices.


We tried everything for 6 months to get him to take one. I can't TELL you how many pacifiers I tried. Na-da, no work, sorry pal.


Fast forward to having my daughter, and BOOM! DAY ONE success!. We tried a couple different ones to make sure she would still take it while she slept and we settled on Avent Ultra air Pacifiers. I wanted to make up a couple clips so that we didn't lose these EXPENSIVE pacifiers, and I came up with this!


THE JOYFUL PACIFIER CLIP


Materials:

5-10 yards of Cotton Yarn- I find that using cotton washes better, and let me tell you... she spit up on her first clip the moment I put it on her.


1 suspender clip- I buy mine at Hobby Lobby in the sewing section, but you can find them on amazon in bulk.


Size 5.5 G Hook- I used my hook from Speckled Clay Boutique


Stitches:

All stitches are in US terms


I primarily use the lemon peel stitch in the pattern (Sc,Dc), but I also use chains and single crochet.


Pattern:


With the bar of the clip in one hand, SC around the bar 5 times.

Row 1: Dc, Sc, Dc, Sc, turn

Row 2: Ch 1, Dc, Sc, Dc, Sc


Repeat Row 2 until you reach a length you like. For my little 2 month old, 8" was just perfect. Older kids may need a longer leash lol. Leave a 10” tail to make the loop at the bottom to attach the pacifier.


if you use the soothie pacifiers like the ones in most hospitals, just take a sharp set of scissors and poke a hole through the tab. Then cut around that hole to make it big enough to thread the loop through.





TAG ME! If you make a clip, please tag me in your pictures on Instagram @kellyjoycrochet! I want to see your beautiful work!


For more crochet patterns, follow me on Instagram, or sign up for my newsletter and get notified of special offers and patterns! Just click the link below to sign up.


http://eepurl.com/gjy15z







189 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page